2024 Annual General Meeting

On Tuesday June 18th the Ontario Farmland Trust hosted its Annual General Meeting. The meeting was held hybrid again this year, with members and friends joining both virtually and in person!

The meeting was overseen by Board Chair Margaret Walton, Secretary Megan Mills, and Treasurer Bethanee Jensen. Executive Director Martin Straathof also highlighted OFT’s 2023 achievements, viewable in our 2023 Annual Report.

The Board extended their thanks to Bernard Pope, who has concluded the maximum of three consecutive terms on the Board of Directors. We are incredibly grateful for the hard work, expertise and steady presence Bernard has provided over the past few years! Thank you as well to outgoing board member Spencer McDonald for his service this past year.

After the AGM elections, OFT’s new Board of Directors consists of returning board members Bethanee Jensen, Mike Douglas, Mark Reusser, Peter Peeters, Spencer McDonald, Margaret Walton, Megan Mills, Matthew Colley, Judy Coward and Collette Aeschlimann.

We welcomed three new additions to the OFT Board: Krista Kapitan, Marsha Paley, and Melanie Williams.

Guest speaker Dr. Michael Classens gave the attendees much to think about during his presentation on the history of land relations and policy in Canada, and how that history has resulted in inequities within land access and the food system today.

Thank you to everyone who attended, we look forward to seeing you next year!

If you haven’t already, please take a moment to read our 2023 Annual Report to review all that we’ve accomplished this past year!

OFT Board Members and Executive Director who attended our 2024 AGM in-person.
Back row: Peter Peeters, Mike Douglas, Margaret Walton, Collette Aeschlimann, Megan Mills, Melanie Williams, Krista Kapitan, Martin Straathof.
Front row: Mark Reusser, Bethanee Jensen.
(Absent from photo: Judy Coward, Matt Colley, Sara Epp, Marsha Paley.)