On Wednesday June 17th the Ontario Farmland Trust hosted its Annual General Meeting. The meeting was held virtually this year due to COVID-19.

The meeting was overseen by Board Chair Bernard Pope, Secretary Megan Mills, and Treasurer Spencer McDonald.

Following greetings, Bernard began the meeting by acknowledging the vital role that members, volunteers, and staff play in the protection of Ontario’s farmland. Bernard also focused on the strides that OFT has made in its mission of permanently protecting farmland forever, and looked forward to the exciting prospects for farmland protection in the coming year. Bernard also commended OFT’s work with provincial and municipal governments in 2019, highlighting meetings with Hon. Ernie Hardeman, the Minister of Agriculture, and with various municipal councils across Ontario.

Next, Executive Director Kathryn Enders reviewed the progress OFT has made towards farmland protection in the past year by reviewing the 2019 Annual Report, taking time to highlight the two new farms that were protected by farmland easement agreements in 2019. Kathryn shared updates on the new farmland protection efforts OFT is undertaking, many of which are in areas of the province where OFT does not currently have farmland easement agreements. In 2020, OFT looks forward to expanding farmland protection efforts to new areas of the province as we continue to work with landowners who are passionate about protecting their farmland!

We would like to welcome our newly elected board members Matthew Colley and Collette Aeschlimann. We are excited to have you on our Board of Directors!

We would also like to extend our thanks to all of the board members whose terms have concluded. We are incredibly grateful for the hard work and expertise that these board members provided during their terms. Thank you again to retiring board members Frank Shaw, Larry Rosevear, Pam Fulford, and Bill French.

Thank you to everyone who attended, we look forward to seeing you next year!